Scrutiny can check some sites which require authentication. If you check 'Attempt to authenticate' and are logged in using Safari, then Scrutiny may be able to access your pages.
Be aware that switching on this setting can damage your site including deleting your pages. Some content management systems have buttons for managing pages, including deleting pages, which look like links to Scrutiny.
If you are going to use this feature and have such controls on your website, then:
- try to exclude them from being checked by using 'Don't check links containing'
- log in using a user account with only 'reader' rights
- make sure your site is backed up and you are prepared to restore if the worst happens
It's also important to blacklist (with 'do not check') your logout link(s)